RETREAT LANDOWNERS ASSOCIATION, INC. Annual Meeting – July 18, 2009 – 1:00pm Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center Estes Park, Colorado

The 38th Annual Meeting of the Retreat Landowners Association, Inc. was called to order by President Dick Boggs. President Boggs introduced Parliamentarian Esther Russell, Meeting Recording Secretary Joan Van Horn, and the Board of Directors: Graham Fowler, Mike Frederick, Terry Larsen, Mary Nolan, Danny Perugini, Peter Sinnott.

The agenda was accepted and the Meeting Standing Rules were read and approved. The minutes of the previous annual meeting held July 19, 2008, and published in an RLA newsletter, were approved by the Board of Directors in September 2008.

Jan Ricker verified that a quorum was present and that proxies had been assigned and were represented.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of RLA members who had passed on this past year.

Graham Fowler, Jan Ricker, Anita Meis, Dennis Bicknell, Bill Widmaier, and Steve Childs were thanked for their years of service and/or outstanding contributions.

REPORTS:

The RLA was served with a lawsuit after the annual meeting packages were sent out. The Board members are not at liberty to discuss the lawsuit.

Written committee reports were included in the Annual Meeting information packets sent to all members. There were no questions from the membership or Board on the reports.

Landowner's Comments – It was clarified that the RLA covenants are different from the Bulwark Ridge covenants but that the motions proposed at this annual meeting would apply to both since the RLA administers both covenants.

The water rights have been settled with the RLA owning the certificates/decrees and all reports are now current with the State Water Board.

The high legal expenses were questioned and it was explained that finalizing the motions for today's vote along with SB 100 and CCIOA requirements and pending lawsuit have contributed to the increase.

The Board was commended for its great performance with the challenges it faced this past year.

It was suggested that a "non-binding straw vote" be taken on the proposed motions before further legal expenses are incurred. The Parliamentarian stated that such a vote is not legal.

BALLOT ISSUES:

Rob Squire summarized the two-year process of studying alternatives for handling road maintenance costs and the proposed Motions #1 and #2 are the result of many compromises. Motion #2 requires that the budget be split into a Road Budget (road maintenance expenditures only) and a Common Budget (all remaining expenditures). All RLA members would pay equal

assessments towards the Common Budget. Residents on Dunraven Glade Road (maintained by Larimer County) would pay a "locked in" rate of \$150.00 to the Road Budget that could never be increased. The other owners, whose properties are not located on Dunraven Glade Road, would pay an assessment based on the road maintenance needs for that year and for which they would vote (Dunraven Glade Road property owners would not be able to vote on matters pertaining to the Road Budget).

Motion #1 would establish a provision to allow the covenants to be amended. Currently the covenants have no such provision.

The motions require 67% of the membership voting in favor in order to pass. Based on the number of votes present by attendance and assigned proxies, that percentage could not be achieved.

It was moved and seconded that both motions presented today be withdrawn. After considerable discussion it was moved, seconded and carried to call for the question. Upon voting, the motion carried to withdraw both motions.

It was then moved and seconded that the Board of Directors determine how to handle the voting of the motions just withdrawn. Discussion followed and then it was moved, seconded and carried to close further debate. The motion was then voted on and passed.

Nominating Committee: The Nominating Committee submitted the following nominations for three positions on the Board of Directors (terms of Dick Boggs, Graham Fowler and Peter Sinnott expiring): Dick Boggs, Peter Sinnott, Duke Sumonia. It was moved, seconded and carried that Claud Alkire be nominated "from the floor". Each candidate spoke briefly and then there being no further nominations from the floor, the nominations were declared closed.

Ballots for the candidates were distributed and volunteers tallied the votes during a recess. The meeting reconvened and the following election results were reported:

Elected to Board of Directors: Claud Alkire, Dick Boggs, Peter Sinnott

Danny Perugini agreed to serve as chairman of the Nominating Committee for this next year and Graham Fowler also said he would serve on the Committee.

Meeting adjourned at 3:15pm.

Joan Van Horn Meeting Recording Secretary